UP Polls: Mayawati calls BJP win ‘success of negative campaigns’

Bahujan Samaj party leader Mayawati admitted on Friday that his party’s rout in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections was a “lesson”.

The former chief minister pointed out that it has become clear that the BSP is not “BJP’s B team” and that the negative campaigns have managed to deceive the people of the state. The BSP, which formed a full-majority government in Uttar Pradesh in 2007, only managed to win one seat this time with a 12.88% vote share.

Addressing a press conference in Lucknow, the BSP leader urged her party’s workers not to be discouraged but to continue their efforts to push forward the BSP’s movement back to power in the state.

“Negative campaigns succeeded in misleading…that BSP is the B-Team of BJP…while the truth is to the contrary, the war between BJP and BSP was not only political, but also electoral and principled “, said the head of the BSP.

The 77-year-old leader said the UP election results were contrary to BSP’s expectations.

“The results of the UP elections are opposed to the expectations of the BSP. We must not be discouraged by this. Instead, we must learn from them, do some soul-searching and continue our party movement, and return to power “, she said.

She cited the examples of the BJP and Congress building on their respective party foundations after their electoral defeats and then forming governments in Uttar Pradesh.

“…Before 2017, BJP did not have a good turnout in Uttar Pradesh. Likewise today, Congress is also going through the same phase as BJP… UP election result is a lesson for us to continue to make efforts,” Mayawati said.

The BJP retained power in Uttar Pradesh by winning 255 constituencies out of 403, securing a vote share of 41.29%.

This is the first time in 37 years that a party (the BJP) has managed to retain power in Uttar Pradesh after completing a full term. Narayan Dutt Tiwari in 1985 had won two consecutive terms in the state.

Notably, the BJP came to power in 2000 in Uttar Pradesh but could not maintain its government even for a year when Rajnath Singh was UP Chief Minister. Since then, the BJP could not come to power and the state was ruled separately by the Samajwadi Party and the BSP until 2017.

(Only the title and image of this report may have been edited by Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear reader,

Business Standard has always endeavored to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that matter to you and that have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your constant encouragement and feedback on how to improve our offering has only strengthened our resolve and commitment to these ideals. Even in these challenging times stemming from Covid-19, we remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative opinions and incisive commentary on relevant topical issues.
However, we have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more so that we can continue to bring you more great content. Our subscription model has received an encouraging response from many of you who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of bringing you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practice the journalism we are committed to.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

digital editor

Comments are closed.