UMaine Society of Women Engineers recognizes 8 high school students

The Society of Women Engineers at the University of Maine congratulated eight Maine high school girls for attending and receiving the Certificate of Achievement Dec. 11 at a masked in-person event.

The award recognizes a junior or senior high school student who identifies as a woman who has achieved excellence in a science or math-related activity and who has completed science and math courses with high distinction. McKayla Leary, a mechanical engineering student at the University of Maine at Orono, helped produce this event as outreach co-chair for this chapter of the Society of Women Engineers.

“The Certificate of Achievement is a special opportunity where we, the SWE Chapter of the University of Maine, can recognize young Maine women for their achievements in STEM,” Leary said in a UMaine News press release. “Our goal is to give these young women the opportunity to ask us any questions they may have, as well as to make meaningful connections, not only with our chapter members, but also with our speakers, such as as the Dean of Engineering and various faculty members.

The award recipients are Georgia Cahoon from Noble High School in North Berwick, Emma Butterfield from Brewer High School, Amelia Plant from Hampden Academy, Mackenzie Wilson from Morse High School in Bath, Riley Simon from Freeport High School, Alaina Lambert from Winslow High School , Anna Arb of Maranacook Community High School in Readfield and Blair Fortin of Lawrence High School in Fairfield.

Leary noted his commitment to inspiring leaders in STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) fields: “We want them to know that their hard work and dedication does not go unnoticed. We are hosting this event to congratulate them, as well as give them a taste of what pursuing a STEM degree in college looks like.

The event featured three guest speakers and a group of university students. The three speakers were Dr Sarah Lindahl (representing the Department of Chemistry), Dean Dr Dana Humphrey (representing the College of Engineering and specifically the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering) and Danika Evangelista (a senior biomedical engineer with a double minor in mathematics and bioinstrumentation).

The award is given globally to one junior or senior in each high school that participates in the award; this award can be recorded on college and scholarship applications.

” Previous

Comments are closed.