Assembly Election 2022 Live announcements, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Punjab, Uttarakhand (UK), Manipur, UP Election News here

Live updates from the 2022 Assembly elections: Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Chairman Sharad Pawar said on Tuesday that his party would participate in the parliamentary elections that would follow in Uttar Pradesh as part of the alliance led by the Samajwadi party. He also said that 13 members of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly will join the Samajwadi party.

Speaking to reporters, Pawar said residents of Uttar Pradesh are looking for parivartan (change) in the northern state, adding that it will happen. The NCP will also contest the ensuing assembly elections in Goa and Manipur, he said. In Manipur, the NCP will have an “arrangement” with Congress, while in Goa it is in talks with Congress and Trinamool Congress, he added. His remark comes after Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut said on Sunday that the The BJP wants to ride on the shoulders of the TMC take power in Goa. Shiv Sena is part of Maharashtra’s ruling alliance which also includes the NCP and Congress.

TMC had already proposed a broader alliance of opposition parties, including Congress, to confront the ruling BJP in the coastal state. Expressing the willingness of the party led by Mamata Banerjee to join Congress and other opposition parties to fight the BJP in the polls in Goa, the TMC MP and his Goa official Mahua Moitra, in a post on Twitter, had said: “Rest assured we TIAC will do all we can to defeat BJP in Goa… @Mamataofficial has done this in the past and will not hesitate to walk an extra mile in Goa as well. “

Besides Congress, Moitra tagged the Goa Forward Party (GFP) and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) in this tweet. As Congress has formed an alliance with the GFP, the TMC, a new player in Goa’s fray, has partnered with the MGP for the upcoming polls.

Meanwhile, ahead of the Assembly elections next month, Uttar Pradesh Minister Swami Prasad Maurya resigned from BJP on Tuesday and joined Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi party. In his resignation letter, Maurya cited “the neglectful attitude towards Dalits, arrears, farmers, unemployed youth, small and medium-sized enterprises” as the reasons for his decision to resign. He represented the Padrauna constituency in Uttar Pradesh and joined the BJP in 2016, after leaving the Bahujan Samaj party.

Comments are closed.