From lawyers to doctors, PM Modi’s new cabinet is a mix of professionals


In addition to meeting regional and community aspirations, it appears that emphasis has been placed on recruiting highly qualified members and individuals with experience in state administration with the aim of restarting government mid-term. .

Ashwini Vaishnaw, a Rajya Sabha MP for Odisha, is a former IAS officer in the class of 1994. The 50-year-old also holds an MBA from the Wharton School, Pennsylvania University and ‘an MTech from IIT Kanpur.

During his tenure, he assumed important responsibilities for more than 15 years and was particularly known for his contribution to the PPP framework in infrastructure.

He has held leadership positions in large global companies such as General Electric and Siemens.

Among the new faces with managerial skills is former Congress leader and now BJP MP Rajya Sabha, Jyotiraditya M Scindia, who is serving his fifth term as a parliamentarian.

With an MBA from Stanford University and a BA from Harvard University, Scindia is likely to win a significant portfolio with a Cabinet rank.

Rajeev Chandrasekhar, a Rajya Sabha MP from Karnataka serving his third term, holds an MTech in Computer Science from the Illinois Institute of Technology, as well as an Advanced Management Program from Harvard University.

Ramchandra Prasad Singh, an MP from Rajya Sabha for Bihar, is another IAS officer who visited the cabinet for his second term as an MP.

A former student of Jawaharlal Nehru University, Singh is a retired 1984 IAS officer, having served over 25 years in various fields and abilities.

He holds a master’s degree in international relations.

Bhagwanth Khuba, Lok Sabha MP for Bidar in Karnataka, holds a BTech degree in Mechanical Engineering.

The Modi Council of Ministers also includes cardiologists, gynecologists, surgeons and general practitioners.

Subhas Sarkar, first Lok Sabha MP for Bankura in West Bengal, is a gynecologist and member of the board of directors of AIIMS Kalyani. He holds an MBBS from the University of Calcutta.

Bhagwat Kishanrao Karad, another physician in the fold with expertise in multiple fields of medicine, is a Rajya Sabha MP for Maharashtra, serving his first term as an MP.

He heads the Dr Karad multi-specialty hospital and research center in Aurangabad and holds degrees MBBS, MS (general surgery), MCh (pediatric surgery) and FCPS (general surgery).

With a three-decade career as a cardiologist and professor of medicine in Gujarat, Munjapara Mahendrabhai, Lok Sabha MP for Surendranagar, will join Modi’s cabinet as the first MP. He holds a doctorate in general and therapeutic medicine.

Another first-time MP, Bharati Pravin Pawar from Dindori in Maharashtra was a doctor before joining politics.

She holds an MBBS degree in Surgery from NDMVPS Medical College in Nashik.

Legal Eagles appear to dominate the newcomer group with up to eight LLB holders. These include Meenakshi Lekhi, an MP for Lok Sabha for New Delhi who still serves on the Supreme Court.

Sarbananda Sonowal, a two Lok Sabha MP from Assam who served as its chief minister from 2016 to 21, holds an LLB from Guwahati University.

L Murugan, the head of BJP Tamil Nadu and another new inductee had practiced law at the Madras High Court for 15 years before joining public life full time.

He holds an LLM and a Ph.D. in Law from the University of Madras.

Other law graduates include Bhupender Yadav, an MP from Rajya Sabha for Rajasthan, who is serving his second term.

Known for his leadership in numerous parliamentary committees, Yadav, before starting his political career, was a lawyer at the Supreme Court and also served as a government adviser on important committees.

He holds an LLB from Government College, Ajmer Rajasthan.

A first-time Nainital member, Ajay Bhatt practiced as a lawyer in Ranikhet. Fifth-term MPs Satya Pal Singh Baghel and Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma also hold LLBs.

This story was posted from an agency feed with no text editing. Only the title has been changed.

To subscribe to Mint newsletters

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.

Never miss a story! Stay connected and informed with Mint. Download our app now !!

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.